Celebrity Rehab, Celebrity Addiction, DanielJ09

Complete Recovery Media

Stories of Addiction: The Time is Now

with 2 comments

My name is Bobby. I’m about to become 40 years old. There was a time in my life that I seriously doubted whether or not I’d ever live long enough to see forty. I was 26, I was drinking nonstop day after day. I’d lost my wife, my family, my friends, my job and I was sleeping on the streets anywhere I could find a warm enough spot to avoid freezing to death.

My education didn’t save me, my pride didn’t save me… I let so much slip away and I was soooo young. My drinking started when I was only 15 and by the time I was 19 or 20 I was carrying a flask around with me getting a ‘bite’ any time I had a moment to myself.

 

path_to_trinity

Looking back, I knew I had a problem but I kept telling myself I’d quit next week or right after the weekend or when the summer was over or after the holidays. It was all a scam, I was just lying to myself the same way I was lying to every one else. The saddest part is I really believed my own B.S. and it took hitting rock bottom to wake me up and get me out of my own head long enough to see the truth.

You can’t quit tomorrow, you can’t have one last drink. You are an addict and you have a very serious illness. You would laugh if a cancer patient said ‘ill just smoke until the holidays are over…’ addiction really is an illness the same way and with consequences that are just as horrible as cancer. Get a hold of yourself and PUT DOWN THE DRINK.

Put it down now, not later. The last drink you HAD was your last drink. Not this drink, not next drink. You are either already in recovery or you are still an addict, there is no in-between. So take a stand, the time is now… get some help, join a recovery community and make sure you that YOU get to see your 40th birthday one day as well!

Written by Daniel

February 10, 2009 at 7:00 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. People in recoveery understand that it is a day to day process

    jonny

    February 16, 2009 at 10:56 am

  2. Having people you can depend on is one of the most important parts of reaching sobriety

    Christopher

    February 16, 2009 at 10:56 am


Leave a Reply

