Celebrity Rehab, Celebrity Addiction, DanielJ09

Complete Recovery Media

New Eminem Album “Relapse” Addresses his Addiction

with one comment

XXL magazine recently published an interview with Eminem, where he shared his sentiments on the death of D12 rap-group member, Proof, and the subsequent drug binge that followed.  In the interview, Eminem said: “I just went into such a dark place that, with everything, the drugs, my thoughts, everything.  And the more drugs I consumed — and it was all depressants I was taking — the more depressed I became, the more self-loathing I became.”

Eminem’s fellow D12 member, Proof, was killed in 2006 in a shooting.  Eminem addressed the overwhelming emotions he was feeling at the time, saying: “The way I felt was almost like it happened to just me. It just blindsided me. I’m just now at the point where I’m better talking about it. It took me so long to get out of that place where I couldn’t even speak about it without crying or wanting to cry.”

In the interview, Eminem also admittedly confessed that the recent three year lapse in his music career was the result of his drug addiction: “I wasn’t ready mentally. I wasn’t ready to give up drugs. I spent the next three years struggling with it. At that time, I felt like I wanted to pull back, because my drug problem had got so bad. I felt like, Maybe if I take a break, maybe this will help.”

Eminem’s new Album, “Relapse,” will be the only album he’s released in the last five years.  Keep an eye out, it is to hit music outlets May 19 and should be a much better window in to the little bit Eminem shared with XXL on Proof’s death and his personal testament of addiction.

Written by Daniel

April 22, 2009 at 5:00 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love how these guys spend their entire careers glorifing drug use and then use it as a crutch.

    SadbutTrue

    May 2, 2009 at 5:33 pm


Leave a Reply

