Celebrity Rehab, Celebrity Addiction, DanielJ09

Complete Recovery Media

A&E Obsessed TV Series Premiere

with 16 comments

Obsessed TV Series

On Memorial Day (May 25th, 2009), A & E will premiere the latest installment of their “Original Non-Fiction TV Series,” called “Obsessed.” Similar to their hit TV show “Intervention,” A&E Obsessed will also portray a very realistic (uncut), documentary-style TV Series that deals with treatment. The difference is that instead of dealing with addiction, “Obsessed” deals with the mental health condition, Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder (OCD).

As part of an eleven episode TV Series, A & E Obsessed will air weekly at 10pm ET/PT. Each TV Show will be an hour long and focus on a different person living with anxiety disorders, including Panic Disorder, Hoarding and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD).

For those unfamiliar with OCD, the DSM says it is “characterized by obsessions (which cause marked anxiety or distress) and/or compulsions (which neutralize anxiety).” Often, a symptom of people living with OCD is uncontrollable rituals of repetition such as, hand washing, door locking, counting, and cleaning often. If the ritual is not performed, it only results in further anxiety.

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. unbelievable
    Very sad docu series
    The sad uncurable side of intervention

    rogers

    May 22, 2009 at 9:17 pm

  2. This is a very well done series. I think both Intervention and Obsessed force us as viewers to be more empathetic to others struggles and tramas.

    I felt for both individuals (Helen and Scott). If there is a way to send this message to them, please do. I wish them both best in their futures and better luck then their past.

    Susan Greenholdt

    May 25, 2009 at 10:01 pm

  3. We can learn a lot from these two talented and dedicated young Therapist who give everything to their patients to resolve their issues. They both did a terrific job! Therapist John Tsilimparis touched my heart when he accompanied Helen to the cemetery to visit her parents. I cried!

    Ada M. Newman

    May 26, 2009 at 1:37 pm

  4. I like the way these shows are done, I would try to watch intervention as mush as i could cuz I too am dealing with addiction. Not as harsh as these cases but it has taken the last 3 years of my life and thousnads of dollars. In a way shows like internvention keep me in check and keep reminding me everyone has their problems. Obsession was an eye opener for me, i was familiar with OSD, however i didnt know the extent of its impact on these people’s lives and they different types. Im so happy for Scott and Helen, at the end of the show you could see it in their eyes that they can move on

    M ichael H

    May 27, 2009 at 12:24 am

  5. Obsession wasn’t exactly an “eye” opener for me, meaning from when I about 12-20 I had severe OCD accompanied by PTSD,agoraphobia, and panic disorder. But I’m finally relieved that shows like Obsessed are opening up and revealing these “behind closed doors” epidemics.I’m 32 now, and have conquered my OCD, agoraphobia…and well, still working on the other two! Like another responder to the show,I felt for both individuals (Scott and Helen),but from the moment I saw Scott and heard about him, I felt somthing I guess I can only describe as some kind of deep connection or something deeper then ‘somthing in common’. I’m forever grateful for his courage to be on the show. Keep your head high Scott, If I could do it, ANYONE can.

    Jennifer Kitka

    May 29, 2009 at 9:09 pm

  6. When will the series be shown at a time that a person like me can see it? 10pm or 11pm is way too late. I have to be up at 4:00am.

    I don’t have TIVO either. What do do? Is there any place that I can see the show earlier?

    Dr. Walbridge
    Staff Psychologist

    Marie Walbridge

    June 4, 2009 at 9:43 am

  7. @roger
    clearly not necessarily uncurable.

    this is good to see and i hope my clients can watch it and feel more normal and safe and to have hope.

    eridanis

    June 4, 2009 at 7:53 pm

  8. my mom has OCD and its very hard to deal with I love her very much and i try to do the bes of itm and I watch this show with her all the time, and i am going to watch it tonight, and it makes her feel not alone. sometimes i wish the ones on the show “obssesed” can come at my house and help my mom… but i am very happy that they are help9ng other people.

    Yazmin

    June 15, 2009 at 11:45 am

    • can anybody help my mom?

      Yazmin

      June 15, 2009 at 11:46 am

  9. I think it’s almost criminal that these theraists are not, in addition to talk and exposure therapy, trying medication. There are medications that work absolute wonders for anxiety and OCD and free people from the prison of their obsessive anxieties. If you were diabetic, would you try to go it on diet alone, or use insulin when it was called for? It’s cruel to not give the patients to options to see how wonderful their lives could be with the right medication for anxiety and ocd. Contrary to popular misconception, these meds don’t change one’s personality or hide issues, they’re a tool in managing anxiety and OCD and a life improving tool at that.

    Del Dean

    June 23, 2009 at 1:22 pm

  10. Hey 🙂
    i have really good friend who discovered that she has had OCD about a year ago. She has had symptoms all her life, but nothing serious, when it got bad she got checked out and thats when she found out she had OCD. For the past year she has just been getting worst. They have tryed changing her medication, therapy, phycologist, hypnosist. Nothing seems to be working, but the medicine makes her depressed. We are only 15 but today she was sobbing telling me how there is no point on her living and how she just cant take this anymore. She is my best friend and i cant stand seeing her like this. i was just wondering how did any of you get rid of, or helped your OCD ? and how do these peoples get on the actual tv show Obsessed ?

    Anonymous:/

    July 4, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    • Dear Anonymous,
      I can relate to your friend. It’s hard to live a life where people don’t understand OCD because they don’t have it, they take things personally and may even attack you for something that you can’t control. I sometimes feel like the detective on the show Monk, or Monica on Friends; things just need to be a “certain way”, otherwise you feel agitated and chaotic. I tell myself to try to be “normal” and try hard not to do my repetitive rituals, but, like your friend must feel, it’s just uncontrollable, and you don’t even know why you have to do things – just that, if you don’t, you can’t rest easy. It’s like sometimes you don’t want to live. Because of the OCD, you literally cannot, and you don’t live and are not “living” (enjoying things and people and experiences). It is exhausting and debilitating. I hope your friend finds new perspective from the show. I hope I will too.

      Monk

      July 12, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    • Your friend is lucky to have someone as committed as you. I don’t give a sh!t what anyone says, OCD is definitely curable. That fact that her condition has worsened since being diagnosed is only further confirmation that the more you believe in OCD, the stronger it is. (Kinda like David Bowie in Labyrinth) Remember, OCD is essentially the mind working against itself. I am convinced (due to my personal experiences with it) that OCD is a form of adrenaline addiction. I know there is literature that exists- written by far more qualified people than myself- that directly contradicts this, but I am confident regardless. In addition to OCD, I have had plenty of experience with addictive substances, and I feel they are all perpetuated by the same “logic”. When I was quitting cigarettes, I would think of reasons why smoking one was right or logical. Anyone not in the grips of the addiction knows how silly this sounds. I feel the same about OCD. People get fixated on the specific thoughts involved in OCD; I believe they are simply an expedient, a means of generating a feeling of anxiety. (That is why OCD people all have the same kinds of thoughts; we pick the most upsetting, stressful subject matter possible) Your friend should try natural stress relief techniques like deep breathing, meditation, visualizing success, etc. (Stress Free For Life is a great book on the subject) The important thing is to not allow her to think too negatively. It will only worsen her condition. Conversely, positive thinking will have the opposite effect. Encourage her to have a sense of humor about her specific obsessions and OCD in general. There is nothing she is worrying about that me and a million others haven’t already. People with OCD complain about having a lack of control over their minds. This lack of control is something that develops gradually; likewise, your friend can gradually regain authority. I was free from OCD for years. Unfortunately, a few too many rendezvouses with the aforementioned “addictive substances” shot my anxiety into the stratosphere, and I’ve had a bit of a relapse. (BTW you and your friend should avoid drugs). However, I’m currently getting back to normal. Also, remind your friend of how intelligent and/or talented she probably is. The ability to obsess over things is a double-edged sword- I am a songwriter and I am able to spend a freakish amount of time poring over the specifics of a two and a half minute song. Encourage your friend to apply her “superpower” in the proper way, and believe me, she won’t want to stop living.

      Adrian

      August 19, 2009 at 9:25 pm

  11. I need help with my son he is 18yrs old and he has not left our house in 2yrs. He has a really bad germ phob. and he thinks he will catch something from our illegals and our legal immigrants. He dropped out of school and he is such a goodlooking guy that he really needs help we need help. Thank you.

    Toni

    August 9, 2009 at 11:12 am

  12. my mom has ocd and it has ruined my entire life i know it sounds mean but i hate her. she has to have people gone when she does certain things in the house i remember her putting me outside in nothing but a diaper in the snow while she did whatever it is she does. i was out there for over an hour at 1 year old. she curses the lords name in vain when she checks things and it can take her up to four hours to check somthing. if you need to take a shower it could take her up to four hours just to trun on the water for you. none of my family was allowed in our house ever ive grown up very antisocial and dont know how to approach situations and people to this day because of her. may god please help my youger brothers as horrible people like this should not bring kids into this world.

    paul

    August 11, 2009 at 12:28 pm

  13. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

    Darek

    March 3, 2011 at 8:25 am


Leave a Reply

